Manga Taisho Awards 2013: and the Nominees Are…

taisho manga awardsThe 11 titles nominated for the Manga Taisho Awards (Cartoon Grand Prize) have been announced. The unique thing about these awards is that they are handled entirely by bookstore staff and the specific representative of each of the participating stores’ manga aisles.

Any work that has been published in 2012 has the right to participate as long as it has not accumulated more than 8 volumes until the last month of the year. This is a rule that guarantees new (and relatively new) works to have a go at receiving the award.

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu by Yusei Matsui

Umimachi Diary by Akimi Yoshida

The Bride’s Stories by Kaoru Mori

Ore Monogatari!!  by   Kazune Kawahara (story) and Aruko (art)

Sanzoku Diary by Kentarou Okamoto

Terra Formars by Yuu Sasuga (story) and Kenichi Tachibana (art)

Ningen Karimen-chuu by Taeko Uzugi

Hi Score Girl by Rensuke Oshikiri

Bokura no Funka-sai by Keigo Shinzou

Ballroom e Youkoso by Tomo Takeuchi

Kui Ryouko Sakuhin-shuu: Seven Little Sons of the Dragon by Ryouko Kui

The 2012 winner was Hiromu Arakawa and his manga entitled “Silver Spoon”. Previous winners include Yuki Suetsugu’s Chihayafuru and Mari Yamazaki’s Thermae Romae.
Image: © 2013
Source: Official Taisho Manga Awards website
Is this great news or not-so-great? What do you think? Comment below.

7 thoughts on “Manga Taisho Awards 2013: and the Nominees Are…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.